November Webinar: Prof. Daniel Aldrich to present Networks in Crisis: Data on Social Capital and Resilience – recording now available

Date: Monday, November 30th
Time: 1:00 – 2:00pm EST (2:00 – 3:00 PM AST)
Webinar Title: “Networks in Crisis: Data on Social Capital and Resilience”
Presenter: Prof. Daniel Aldrich, Northeastern University

On Monday, November 30th, PROTECT hosted its first installment in our webinar series, Collaboration for Innovation, during which the guest speaker, Prof. Daniel Aldrich, Northeastern University, presented, “Networks in Crisis: Data on Social Capital and Resilience.”

To view the recording of this presentation via WebEx, please go to the following link:


Prof. Daniel Aldrich is a Professor of Political Science, Public Policy and Urban Affairs and is the Co-Director of the Masters Program in Security and Resilience at Northeastern University. He has published four books, single-authoring Site Fights (Cornell University Press, 2008) and Building Resilience (University of Chicago Press, 2012) which won  the Japan NPO Research Association Award for Outstanding Book; both were translated into Japanese and the latter into Chinese as well.  He co-authored and co-edited the books Resilience and Recovery in Asian Disasters: Community Ties, Market Mechanisms, and Governance (Springer Publishers, 2014) and Healthy, Resilient and Sustainable Communities after Disasters (Institute of Medicine / National Academy of Sciences, forthcoming).  He has also published thirty peer reviewed articles in journals such as Social Science and Medicine, Public Administration Review, British Journal of Political Science, Natural Hazards and the Journal of Asian Studies along with 20 book chapters and OpEds in the New York Times, CNN, the Washington Post, and the Asahi Shinbun.

Aldrich is Chair of the American Political Science Association’s Working Group on Disasters and Crises and sits on the editorial board of several journals.  He has won, among other awards, two Fulbright fellowships, an Abe Fellowship, an American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) Science and Technology fellowship, the Kinley Trust Fellowship, and the Pi Sigma Alpha Best Professor Award (2011).